The City of Plymouth is an adorable and pleasant community, with a quality of life that Californian’s treasure.  The Mayor, City Council, City Manager and entire City staff are committed to providing the best in service and opportunity so our community, businesses, and visitors continue to grow and prosper.

Plymouth City Government

The City of Plymouth is a general law city and employs the Council/Manager form of government. The Plymouth City Council consists of five members, elected at-large for four year terms. The Mayor and Vice Mayor positions are held by Council Members who are selected by their colleagues. The City Council is elected every 4 years. The council members rotate the responsibility of Mayor and Vice Mayor every year. The City Council periodically establishes city-wide goals and updates the General Plan and Zoning Ordinance as needed.

The City Manager is the chief administrative officer, and is responsible for implementing the policies and priorities of the City Council. The City Clerk and the City Treasurer are elected for four year terms.

The City Council acts as the legislative and policy-making body for the City. The Council appoints the City Manager, City Attorney, and all members of any boards and commissions which serve in an advisory capacity to the City Council. The Council sets policy on all public matters relating to the City of Plymouth, and adopts an annual budget in which the year’s approved programs, projects, and services are financed.

Council agendas are posted at City Hall at least 72 hours prior to the meeting and available online.



City Council and City Staff –


Marianne Akerland, Mayor

Michael McLaughlin, Vice Mayor

Peter Amoruso, Council Member

Doug Sim, Council Member

Keith White, Council Member

Margaret S. Roberts, City Manager

Frank Splendorio, City Attorney



Planning Commission


Thomas Mikkelsen, Chairman

Michael Sullivan, Vice Chair

Melvin Cossairt, Commissioner

William Klaproth, Commissioner


Local Representatives


Tom McClintock, California 4th District United States Congressman – Click here to go to website

Andreas Borgeas, California 8th Senate District State Senator – Click here to go to website

Frank Bigelow, California 5th Assembly District Assemblyman – Click here to go to website

Brian Oneto, Amador County District 5 Supervisor – Click here to go to website